How did you end up working as a programmer?

• (3 Pages)
  • +

33 Replies - 5706 Views - Last Post: 28 September 2012 - 04:31 AM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: How did you end up working as a programmer?

Posted 27 September 2010 - 06:18 AM

Im 25 and last year I decided to go back to college and get an education. I have always had an interest in computing and technology and had dabbled in VB6 some years back, but nothing major. I used to work in Public Space Surveilance, and work long 12 hour nightshifts for a rubbish wage in an airlocked room with no windows (not that I would have been able to see much it was always dark). With the support of my partner I decided to go back to college to do a degree. Now I am a competant programmer in many languages and in systems design and loving every minute of it. When you work in dead end jobs it really opens your eyes as to what you want to do. As long as you have direction in life you can strive to achieve many things, if you don't then you stagnate. I don't really think it matters how you get there, just as long as you are doing it and you are happy. Oh and if possible, sit near a window, it's nice to see the outside world :)
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• Great::Southern::Land
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 27 September 2010 - 06:40 AM