Page 1 of 1

Advanced Control of LinqDataSource & binding with Search

• New D.I.C Head
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 14 September 2010 - 12:47 AM

I have always been more of a Windows programmer but over the last few weeks I have had to dive head first into a full rewrite of an asp.net application. Luckily I wasn't a complete beginner, but the asyncrinicity of web always throws me. I had to change a lot about the way I thought about things. Anyway I got to really get heavy into Linq and thought I'd share a few cool and powerful features. I have always loved to be able to bind things and save myself a TON of programming. In this post I am going to show you how to override the linqdatasource select at run time to return just about anything your datacontext has to offer, then bind it to a gridview (or anything really). Lets get started:

First thing first, you will need to create a dbml file (linq to sql). To do this, right click on your project and add a new item. Choose linq to sql in the data section. Give it a name and click add. This will open up the dbml designer. Use the server explorer to connect to your database, and drag your tables onto the design surface. Hopefully your database is well defined with primary keys, foriegn keys, identity fields, etc. If not, then i'd suggest revisiting your DB before going on.

Once you have your tables on the designer, click save and lets move on.

On your aspx page, add a GridView and a LinqDataSource. Choose to configure your linqdatasource. This should open up the wizard. Choose your datacontext from the dropdown list. Then click next.