6 Replies - 34574 Views - Last Post: 24 October 2006 - 09:27 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Popup in ColdFusion code

Posted 29 September 2006 - 01:01 PM

I'm still new to ColdFusion only about 3 months in and we are currently running CF MX 7.0, just upgraded the server from CF MX 6.1.

How do I get a popup message box to show up in ColdFusion?

I can do this without even thinking in Visual Basic, VBScript, or Access, (been doing traditional programming for almost 15 years, web programming is still new to me).

Coldfusion is just driving me crazy with the inability to do something this simple or I'm just not seeing the tag.

Currently I'm resorting to using inline javascript like this
'CF code here
<cfoutput>
<cfif authresult.status IS "AuthenticationFailure">
<!--- The user is valid, but not the password.
no need to tell them which one is wrong will just make it easier to hack
--->
<script src="alertStatus.js" type="text/javascript"></script>

<cfelse>
<!--- There is one other status value, invalid user name.
--->
<script src="alertStatus.js" type="text/javascript"></script>

</cfif>
</cfoutput>

'-----------------------
'javascript code
alert('The login name or password is incorrect.')

Thanks in advance.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Popup in ColdFusion code

• Head DIC Head
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Popup in ColdFusion code

Posted 29 September 2006 - 01:24 PM

Welcome to the ColdFusion world, I think I understand what you're trying to do, but I think you're probably getting some of the methodologies mixed up between web based and non-web based. Remember, ColdFusion is a server side language, java script is a client side language. Any server side code will run each time the page is loaded/reloaded. Client side code can be run based on a variety of events (clicks, mouse over, etc.)