Help with page publishing

make default/index appear under domain name

Page 1 of 1

3 Replies - 544 Views - Last Post: 22 September 2010 - 08:33 AM

#1 Guest_legionnaire*


Reputation:

Help with page publishing

Posted 22 September 2010 - 08:17 AM

probably a stupid question, hopefully with a really simple answer.

I registered a domain and got a hosting service. Now i'm working on getting my site up and running, it's a very simple site and I don't need any help with programming. But here is the problem i'm stuck on, I can get my page to display if I go to http://www.netleague...com/default.htm but I want that default page to show up when I go to http://www.netleaguehockey.com/

so how do I make my page come up without have to type default.htm every time? an answer here would be great, a link to my solution would work too. Thanks!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0

Replies To: Help with page publishing

#2 Guest_legionnaire*


Reputation:

Re: Help with page publishing

Posted 22 September 2010 - 08:19 AM

nevermind, when i put www. in front it works correctly. previously I was just using netleaguehockey.com sorry for wasting your time.
Was This Post Helpful? 0

#3 Dormilich  Icon User is offline

  • 痛覚残留
  • member icon

Reputation: 3576
  • View blog
  • Posts: 10,441
  • Joined: 08-June 10

Re: Help with page publishing

Posted 22 September 2010 - 08:23 AM

if you have access to the serverís configuration file (e.g. httpd.conf), you can add default.html to the default pages (usually there are already entries like index.html index.htm index.php) other wise you can try to do these settings in a .htaccess file (Apache server) or even setting this in your serverís control panel.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 Dannyboy997  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular
  • member icon

Reputation: 64
  • View blog
  • Posts: 258
  • Joined: 17-April 09

Re: Help with page publishing

Posted 22 September 2010 - 08:33 AM

Seems like it already working.

Usually when you enter a domain name, it goes and finds the index file. But you can change it to find let say the default.htm

-Daniel
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1