11 Replies - 1857 Views - Last Post: 05 October 2006 - 04:59 PM

#1 girasquid  Icon User is offline

  • Barbarbar
  • member icon

Reputation: 108
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,825
  • Joined: 03-October 06

IE doesn't display what Firefox does

Posted 03 October 2006 - 09:44 AM

Hello, all.

I have some Javascript I've been working with that creates a dynamic 'tweening' animation. However, the code only works on Firefox/Safari...on opening the page in IE, all I get is a blank page(but no errors listed).

The page can be seen here.

Thanks,
Girasquid
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: IE doesn't display what Firefox does

#2 Jayman  Icon User is offline

  • Student of Life
  • member icon

Reputation: 418
  • View blog
  • Posts: 9,532
  • Joined: 26-December 05

Re: IE doesn't display what Firefox does

Posted 03 October 2006 - 10:07 AM

It doesn't work in my version of Firefox 1.5.0.4.

However I think the problem is in your script tags. They should have a starting and ending tag for scripts but your HTML only has the ending tag.

<script type="text/javascript" src='includes/main.js' />



Should look like this:
<script type="text/javascript" src='includes/main.js'>
</script>


Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 Arbitrator  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Addict
  • member icon

Reputation: 51
  • View blog
  • Posts: 530
  • Joined: 26-January 05

Re: IE doesn't display what Firefox does

Posted 03 October 2006 - 05:12 PM

View Postgirasquid, on 3 Oct, 2006 - 09:44 AM, said:

I get is a blank page(but no errors listed).
I get an error passed to the console when I click the link: homePage.draw() is not a function.

View Postjayman9, on 3 Oct, 2006 - 10:07 AM, said:

It doesn't work in my version of Firefox 1.5.0.4.
Your version of Firefox is a bit out-dated. Firefox 1.5.0.7 has already been released.

Other comments:
  • Both of the constructs in jayman9's post are valid XHTML, though using the suggested latter is the better choice for compatibility. After all, Internet Explorer can't even read true XHTML.
  • That XHTML is invalid.
  • You could make your page more readable by utilizing <code></code> tags and not centering the code (code is read left-aligned). It would have also made sense to use white-space: pre instead of all those line-break elements.
  • I'm curious why you're using document.all for compatibility with those antique browsers. If that was your intent then you shouldn't even be using XHTML as HTML is more compatible.
  • With a page in standards-compliance mode, as yours currently is (based upon the doctype), there's no need to exploit the text-align: center bug to center block-level elements as Internet Explorer 6 and above understand the correct method: margin: 0 auto.

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 Jayman  Icon User is offline

  • Student of Life
  • member icon

Reputation: 418
  • View blog
  • Posts: 9,532
  • Joined: 26-December 05

Re: IE doesn't display what Firefox does

Posted 03 October 2006 - 05:51 PM

View PostArbitrator, on 3 Oct, 2006 - 05:12 PM, said:

View Postjayman9, on 3 Oct, 2006 - 10:07 AM, said:

It doesn't work in my version of Firefox 1.5.0.4.
Your version of Firefox is a bit out-dated. Firefox 1.5.0.7 has already been released.

Yeah I know its out of date.

Unfortunetely it was a school computer I was trying it on and I am not allow to update, as I am not an admin on the school computers.

Tried it when I got home on an up-to-date firefox and it displayed your links.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 Arbitrator  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Addict
  • member icon

Reputation: 51
  • View blog
  • Posts: 530
  • Joined: 26-January 05

Re: IE doesn't display what Firefox does

Posted 04 October 2006 - 06:18 AM

View Postjayman9, on 3 Oct, 2006 - 05:51 PM, said:

Yeah I know its out of date.

Unfortunetely it was a school computer I was trying it on and I am not allow to update, as I am not an admin on the school computers.
Heh, yeah my university only had Internet Explorer and Netscape installed. To get around that and allow me to move my favorites, themes, and extensions around, I installed Firefox Portable on my flash drive.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 Jayman  Icon User is offline

  • Student of Life
  • member icon

Reputation: 418
  • View blog
  • Posts: 9,532
  • Joined: 26-December 05

Re: IE doesn't display what Firefox does

Posted 04 October 2006 - 08:20 AM

View PostArbitrator, on 4 Oct, 2006 - 06:18 AM, said:

Heh, yeah my university only had Internet Explorer and Netscape installed. To get around that and allow me to move my favorites, themes, and extensions around, I installed Firefox Portable on my flash drive.

Nice, I didn't know there was a portable version. :)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 skyhawk133  Icon User is offline

  • Head DIC Head
  • member icon

Reputation: 1877
  • View blog
  • Posts: 20,284
  • Joined: 17-March 01

Re: IE doesn't display what Firefox does

Posted 04 October 2006 - 08:26 AM

Download the entire suite, it's great having FTP, a word processor, email client, calendar, etc. all on the ole' mem stick.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#8 girasquid  Icon User is offline

  • Barbarbar
  • member icon

Reputation: 108
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,825
  • Joined: 03-October 06

Re: IE doesn't display what Firefox does

Posted 04 October 2006 - 09:10 AM

Thanks for the comments Arbitrator, they'ved helped me resolve some other stuff. In regards to the document.all(), though: I've been told horror stories about browsers that aren't compatable with getElementById(), and document.all() was what I was told to use. If you know of anything better, let me know.

This post has been edited by girasquid: 04 October 2006 - 05:02 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#9 Arbitrator  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Addict
  • member icon

Reputation: 51
  • View blog
  • Posts: 530
  • Joined: 26-January 05

Re: IE doesn't display what Firefox does

Posted 05 October 2006 - 07:56 AM

View Postskyhawk133, on 4 Oct, 2006 - 08:26 AM, said:

Download the entire suite, it's great having FTP, a word processor, email client, calendar, etc. all on the ole' mem stick.
Hmm… I didn't think of that. Maybe there's a portable version of Thunderbird out there somewhere; that would be useful.

View Postgirasquid, on 4 Oct, 2006 - 09:10 AM, said:

In regards to the document.all(), though: I've been told horror stories about browsers that aren't compatable with getElementById(), and document.all() was what I was told to use. If you know of anything better, let me know.
All of the modern browsers that are considered major should understand getElementById(): Firefox 1.5, Internet Explorer 6, Konquerer, Netscape 8.1, Opera 9, and Safari 2. I believe that document.all() is also an Internet Explorer-only construct so the only reason to use it would be to cater to users of older versions of Internet Explorer (prior to 5). If you're coding for Internet Explorer 4 (or even 5), you've got a lot of work ahead; personally, that would be a waste considering that those browsers are virtually dead.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#10 girasquid  Icon User is offline

  • Barbarbar
  • member icon

Reputation: 108
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,825
  • Joined: 03-October 06

Re: IE doesn't display what Firefox does

Posted 05 October 2006 - 09:23 AM

View PostArbitrator, on 5 Oct, 2006 - 07:56 AM, said:

All of the modern browsers that are considered major should understand getElementById(): Firefox 1.5, Internet Explorer 6, Konquerer, Netscape 8.1, Opera 9, and Safari 2. I believe that document.all() is also an Internet Explorer-only construct so the only reason to use it would be to cater to users of older versions of Internet Explorer (prior to 5). If you're coding for Internet Explorer 4 (or even 5), you've got a lot of work ahead; personally, that would be a waste considering that those browsers are virtually dead.


Alright, I'll remember that.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#11 Jayman  Icon User is offline

  • Student of Life
  • member icon

Reputation: 418
  • View blog
  • Posts: 9,532
  • Joined: 26-December 05

Re: IE doesn't display what Firefox does

Posted 05 October 2006 - 11:15 AM

View PostArbitrator, on 5 Oct, 2006 - 07:56 AM, said:

View Postskyhawk133, on 4 Oct, 2006 - 08:26 AM, said:

Download the entire suite, it's great having FTP, a word processor, email client, calendar, etc. all on the ole' mem stick.
Hmm… I didn't think of that. Maybe there's a portable version of Thunderbird out there somewhere; that would be useful.

Ask you and you shall receive, there is a Thunderbird portable.

You can find it here.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#12 Arbitrator  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Addict
  • member icon

Reputation: 51
  • View blog
  • Posts: 530
  • Joined: 26-January 05

Re: IE doesn't display what Firefox does

Posted 05 October 2006 - 04:59 PM

View Postjayman9, on 5 Oct, 2006 - 11:15 AM, said:

Must not be paying attention; I'd glanced over there at the navigation earlier and didn't see it. :p
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1