Delphi and Access!

Conect a Delphi form with an access table!

Page 1 of 1

2 Replies - 947 Views - Last Post: 28 September 2010 - 03:09 PM Rate Topic: -----

#1 Guest_NIck*

Delphi and Access!

Posted 28 September 2010 - 10:09 AM

Hello I am trying to connect an access table with a form in delphi can someone help I have succesfully connected delphi with access but I have a form and I want to type in it a name and give me in other fields of my form the rest that my access table contains.
Example I have a table cusromer(Which has phone ,name, age)My key is the name so I want to enter in my delphi form the name and complete the rest of the form like this.
Name:Nick
Telephone:210...
Can it be done?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0

Replies To: Delphi and Access!

#2 Guest_Guest*

Re: Delphi and Access!

Posted 28 September 2010 - 10:11 AM

The form will be empty In the begging I want to enter only the name and the rest should be completed by the code i delphi but how?I am new in this so I am try by queries ,I have delphi 7
Was This Post Helpful? 0

• D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Delphi and Access!

Posted 28 September 2010 - 03:09 PM

Of course it can be done and you have three ways to achive this:
1. put some textboxes on your form, put an ADOConnection, ADOQuery. In sql property of ADOquery, put
INSERT INTO table VALUES (@param1, @param2, @param3) //just an example, give meaningfull names to your parameters 

Then on your submit button, add
With adoquery1 do begin
   Close;
   Parameters.ParamByName('param1').Value := edit1.text; //value is variant so you don't need to do conversions, but pay attention to column's data type and do the correct assignment
   Parameters.ParamByName('param2').Value := edit2.text;
   Parameters.ParamByName('param3').Value := edit3.text;
   ExecSql;
end;

2. in sql property, write
SELECT * from table

and in code
With adoquery1 do begin
   if Active then Close;
   Insert;
   FieldByName('Name').AsString := edit1.text;