3 Replies - 1380 Views - Last Post: 05 October 2006 - 03:34 PM Rate Topic: -----

#1 webgurl  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 05-October 06

dynamic links from site A to site B

Posted 05 October 2006 - 01:48 AM

Hi all - newbie here -

I need an overall view of how to begin to accomplish the following:

Suppose there are two sites - totally separate but with similarly dynamically generated pages with related content.

I want to link each page in site A to the corresponding page in site B.

In general, both sites have the following design

Home Page (has a list (from an array?) of categories which are links to category pages)
Categories pages (same thing- with a list of sub-categories and links to them)
Sub Categories pages (same assumption - has list of details pages)
Detail page

They may even have the same naming convention except for the domain name.

So, remembering that I am a newbie and I'm not yet certain, but trying to learn about setting variables, values, creating arrays etc - I know these pages have to exist on the fly and then scripts probably run the links from one site to the other but I need to just get a general idea at this time of how this would be accomplished. Where might I read up more on how to do this?

Thank You

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: dynamic links from site A to site B

#2 snoj  Icon User is offline

  • Married Life
  • member icon

Reputation: 84
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3,564
  • Joined: 31-March 03

Re: dynamic links from site A to site B

Posted 05 October 2006 - 05:39 AM

You can use $_GET['some_name'] to make use of URL queries to dictate what "page" you want displayed.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 webgurl  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 05-October 06

Re: dynamic links from site A to site B

Posted 05 October 2006 - 03:31 PM

Thank you for that!



View Posthotsnoj, on 5 Oct, 2006 - 05:39 AM, said:

You can use $_GET['some_name'] to make use of URL queries to dictate what "page" you want displayed.

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 max302  Icon User is offline

  • Proud supporter of the lulz
  • member icon

Reputation: 2
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,281
  • Joined: 05-March 06

Re: dynamic links from site A to site B

Posted 05 October 2006 - 03:34 PM

I was thinking about a search in RSS feeds. Hotsnoj linked me to a very interesting link on PHP DOM functions, which might be of some use. Google that!
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1