Dynamic memory allocation

Using pointers to dynamicaly make an array

Page 1 of 1

13 Replies - 1884 Views - Last Post: 03 October 2010 - 09:27 PM Rate Topic: -----

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Dynamic memory allocation

Posted 03 October 2010 - 09:10 AM

#include <cstdio>
#include <cstdlib>
#include <iostream>
using namespace std;
char* saying;
int n;
int x;
int main (/*int nArg, char* pszArgs[]*/)
{
    //attempt to read a string of variable length
    cout << "here goes nothing\n";
    cin>>n;
    cin.width(++n);
    saying = new char[n];
    cout << endl;
    cin >> *saying;
    cout << endl;
    x = n;
    n = 0;
    while (n <= x)
    {
        cout<< *(saying + n);
        n++;
    }
    delete [] saying;
    return 0;
}

I am new to C++ and am attempting to teach myself how to use pointers to create variable length arrays. When i run this program it successfully stores the data from cin to *saying (or at least i think it dose) but when i go to display the content of the array i get the first char returned and then multiple garbage letters. for example "====2z".

i tried changeing line 23 to:
 cout<< *saying; 

and deleting the while loop but then i only got the first letter out.

What could i do to make the program display all of what the user inputs, and i don't want the answer "use #include <string>".

another thing i would like to know is how do i read how long the data is that the user inputs with out storing it in a string and without asking?

any help is appreciated,
thanks
The Blue Phoenix

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Dynamic memory allocation

• D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Dynamic memory allocation

Posted 03 October 2010 - 09:15 AM

*saying : Explain this expression to us.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 03 October 2010 - 09:25 AM

View PostOler1s, on 03 October 2010 - 08:15 AM, said:

no offense but i did post that i tried several forms of the code listed above,