• (3 Pages)
  • +

37 Replies - 12346 Views - Last Post: 11 October 2010 - 02:01 PM

• Not Your Ordinary Programmer
  • member icon

• View blog

Source Control

Post icon  Posted 05 October 2010 - 06:46 AM

At my company, we have been using Microsoft SourceSafe for the entire time I've been here(almost 4 years), and they were using it long before I got here.

However, my boss sent out an email today linking to this post by Scott Hanselman, so it seems as though he is up for moving to something different.

I think it's come down to CVS or Subversion. I have no real experience with either one, so I was going to ask you guys which one you guys use and whether it's good or not. Also, for any .Net developers, how does it integrate into Visual Studio? We use Visual Studio exclusively, so that integration might be a deal breaker.

If you have used both CVS and Subversion(and even SourceSafe), can you post your experiences with the difference?

I did a search, but the only real post I found was from 2008. So I figured it would be good to give this another shot with any updates that have been made to the products.

For me, we've used SourceSafe for it's basic uses, and I haven't really had a problem with it. However, I don't have anything to compare it to.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 2
  • +

Replies To: Source Control

#2 Dormilich  Icon User is online

• 痛覚残留
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Source Control

Posted 05 October 2010 - 06:51 AM

I wouldn’t use CVS, rather the more modern SVN (Subversion) or Git.
Was This Post Helpful? 3
  • +
  • -

• I'm a cheeseburger
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 05 October 2010 - 06:57 AM

I've played with several different ones...

SVN - I use SVN at home for my own personal stuff. It's lightweight enough yet still robust to handle what I need from it. There's also tons of opensource tools, clients, and other applications I can use with it that work on all the operating systems I play in.