How to program a database application

Page 1 of 1

7 Replies - 1020 Views - Last Post: 09 October 2010 - 11:56 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Best way to program my program

Posted 08 October 2010 - 03:47 PM

Hi guys,

I am making this desktop program to control and manage my employees.

The way I want it is to have a listbox on the left with all my employees on it and when i click on one i want the their information detailed on the panel on the right.

My problem isn't about programming this stuff, but it's the way i want to do this.

I want to start with 0 employees and add them manually. After that i want to save them on the same computer (no internet database).

Now i have no experience in file IO whatsoever in programming.

The application will be run on Windows XP computers.

What is the best way to save my employee information and in what format?
Like should i store them in .XML files and parse them or is it better to have a localhost with SQL?

And in combination with which language will it perform at best?

Employees will be max 200 and i have 5 entities i want to save per employee.

Thanks in advance!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Best way to program my program

• Please show what you have already tried when asking a question.
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Best way to program my program

Posted 08 October 2010 - 04:02 PM

If the only reason you're doing this is for your own need - and not because you program for fun...
It's a lot to learn for one application and you'ld be better off buying FileMakerMy link and just building a database in it.

Beyond that... Its a matter of how much you are doing with them. Is this going to be their payroll and their work schedules and their productivity... Or is this just a contact book with name/address/phone number?

Employees will be max 200 and i have 5 entities i want to save per employee.

Sounds like an address book. Are you sure Outlook wouldn't do the job for ya?