4 Replies - 26447 Views - Last Post: 10 October 2006 - 11:30 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Help writing a Pig Latin translator

Posted 09 October 2006 - 09:47 AM

Hi.
I am really stuck on this assignment question and the truth is i don't even know how to approach this, meaning which classes to import and what methods to invoke etc... i'm completely new in this Java thing and this is only our second assignment so far :huh:

any help on how to approach this would be very much apreciated.

the question:

Pig Latin is a language game primarily used in English which consists of appending syllables to words in order to alter them. There are multiple Pig Latin dialects but for the purposes of this question, the rules are as follows:

* For words that begin with a consonant, move this consonant to the end of the word (separated from the end of the word with "-"), and add "ay". For example, "teacher" would be translated to "eacher-tay".
* For words that begin with a vowel, simply append "-way" to the end of the word. For example, "apple" would be translated to "apple-way".
* Words that start with a non-letter character are not translated.

Write a program that consists of one Java class called PigLatinTranslator, which defines a main() method that asks the user to enter an English sentence. Your program method will then translate this sentence into Pig Latin and display the result.
Additional rules:

* You MUST only move the first consonant in a word to the end of that word; if a word starts with multiple consecutive consonants, you MUST only move the first of these consonants to the end of the word, NOT all of them. For example, "school" would be translated to "chool-say", NOT "ool-schay".
* The letter "h", when occuring at the beginning of a word, MUST always be considered as a consonant, even if it is silent. For example, "honest" would be translated to "onest-hay", NOT "honest-way".