3 Replies - 707 Views - Last Post: 14 October 2010 - 12:55 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Need help with SQL database...

Posted 13 October 2010 - 10:07 PM

Alright, I'm not asking for anyone to do my homework, i just need some helping hands,

I didn't show up at class THIS ONE day, I always attend, and this one single day he gives out an assignment and gives some important information during class.. based on SQL databases, and I have no experience in this.
I've spent the past two hours searching for answers, trying SQL statements in the oracletest link he has provided, I've found online SQL cheat sheets (example http://www.sqltutori...cheetsheet.gif) with statements and all, have tried organizing them accordingly... i'm really getting frustrated now...

This is what the homework was, DO NOT DO IT FOR ME, I WANT TO LEARN THIS - so am looking for some help not the direct answers.

How exactly would I start this out? I try entering into the oracletest and it says things like "missing right parentheses", "invalid option" or some other error.. i cant even get past step one, let alone start on it. Do i start by creating a table? the course book isn't much help for this cause all it does is describe what SQL and oracle are...

""""
Use the SQL statements that we have shown in class as a model to create SQL commands to do the following tasks. Copy the commands into an RTF file and submit the RTF file with the following naming convention
FirstNameLastNameDatabaseLab.rtf
example WaldoWildcateDatabaseLab.rtf

You will be using a table called Customer from a database. You can access the database command window at the following link
http://faculty.cs.we...oracletest.aspx

1. List all entries in the Customer table

2. List only the first and last name of customers

3. List only first and last names in reverse order of last name (Z - A).

4. List first and last names of those from 'CO' (Note here that there is case sensitivity involved)