5 Replies - 2295 Views - Last Post: 16 October 2010 - 10:49 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Website width Problem

Posted 14 October 2010 - 09:05 AM

Hi i am new to CSS and HTML , i have created a website but the problem with it is that
if i open website on different computers it gonna show me different page width. So i have to Zoom In or Zoom Out to View the page completely .

So i don't want the page to get off the screen width and don't show me any horizontal scroll bar.

Here is the link.

I have put the whole webpage into div #bodyInner

and this is the CSS of the div
#bodyInner {
width: 1400px ;
  margin-left: auto ;
  margin-right: auto ;
    }

I thought this thing will work, but it didnt..

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Website width Problem

• D.I.C Regular

• View blog

Re: Website width Problem

Posted 14 October 2010 - 09:12 AM

If you fix the width at 1400px then this will always happen. The only way around it is to use percentages and set the width to 100%.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#3 BetaWar  Icon User is online

• #include "soul.h"
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 14 October 2010 - 09:13 AM

It works exactly as you have told it to. It tries to center the website on the page, but has the width of 1400 pixels. Now, the problem there is that not everyone has a monitor which can support that width, and not everyone who has a monitor which can has their browser window that large (both cases would cause overflow as you have noticed).

There are a few ways to fix this. The first one is the easier, but does limit you more, and that is to make your website for the minimum monitory width you want it to work for. So, if you wanted to work on an 800 pixel wide monitor resolution you could make your site's max width 800 pixels (well, minus about 20 pixels to account for a scrollbar).