Help PLease!!

Page 1 of 1

4 Replies - 1122 Views - Last Post: 18 October 2010 - 03:40 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

DTD Help

Posted 15 October 2010 - 03:38 AM

Hi all,

I am very new in DTD and i am learning too. I came across this question to construct DTD . Here is the Question. I tried attempting it. Please Help!! I have also pasted my answer too

Suppose you have to collect data from a large system of weather stations. Each station has an ID. It records TEMPerature, LONGitude and WINDspeed. Each station has a position consisting of a LATitude,LONGitude and ELEVation. Stations come in two kinds: STATic and MOBile. In mobile stations( such as ballons and ships) the positions varies.

PRECipitation(rainfall) is recorded only by static stations. They do this by using a little bucket which fills up each time 1mm of rain accumulates, sends a signal,and then empties itself.Thus precipitation is recorded as a series of times.

Weather stations normally take readings at approximately 15 minute interval. In additions to the data described above, each reading contains its time and the precipitation represented as a list of times since the last reading. Readings are normally sent from a station to the central office, but since contact with the office is often lost, stations buffer the data and send it as a file containing a list of readings when contact is re-established.

Design a DTD for the file. The DTD should be reasonably "modular". E.g there should be a position element. The same DTD should be used by both static and moving stations.

My Solution. I am not sure whther this is correct or not. Can someone please help to correct and guide please.

< DOC TYPE Weather_Forecast [
<! ELEMENT Weather_Forecast ( Station*)>
<! ELEMENT Station (Position, (Static | Mobile)*>
<! ATTLIST Station sID ID #REQUIRED>
<! ELEMENT Position (LALTitude, LONGitude, ELEVation)>
<! ELEMENT LALTitude <#PCDATA>>
<! ELEMENT LONGitude <#PCDATA>>
<! ELEMENT ELEVation <#PCDATA>>