6 Replies - 1112 Views - Last Post: 18 October 2010 - 06:18 AM

• D.I.C Head
  • member icon

• View blog

What's next, or what should I be doing?

Posted 16 October 2010 - 05:34 PM

I am a senior in undergrad with a year left until I graduate with a C.S. degree. School wise I am completely on track, but I am not sure if I am up to par on the skills that I should have for the workforce. Let me elaborate, presently I can generally figure out a way to do 95% of the things I try. But, my algorithms are crap, my program design is mediocre at best and I won't even begin to mention my horrible structure.

My point is this, those developers that actually work in the industry, what would you hands down require knowledge wise from any developer you are interviewing. Any recommendations book or link wise would be greatly appreciated.

I have noticed there isn't really a set guide on what one should learn to become a developer.

This post has been edited by b0ng01: 16 October 2010 - 05:34 PM

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: What's next, or what should I be doing?

#2 macosxnerd101  Icon User is online

• Self-Trained Economist
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: What's next, or what should I be doing?

Posted 16 October 2010 - 06:28 PM

I have a thread in the Java Programmers subforum you may find helpful. It is called Getting Better at Programming Java. While some of it is Java specific, a lot of it can be generalized to most contemporary OO languages.

Also, you might want to try to get an internship as a developer to get some real world experience. The best way to improve as a programmer is to practice, and an internship is a mainly about learning.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 16 October 2010 - 08:12 PM