7 Replies - 662 Views - Last Post: 22 October 2010 - 08:41 AM Rate Topic: -----

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

List Deletion Help

Posted 21 October 2010 - 08:14 AM

So I am very new to programming in Python and I am in the process of teaching myself. I am using Python3.1 if that makes a difference. What I am trying to do with the program I am writing now is to remove duplicate or invalid entries from a Mailing List. The code I am having trouble with is removing all the invalid entries from the list. So what I have done is taken the entire text file that was exported from Excel. I read in each line and put the values in a dictionary with the corresponding keys as the column title(eg.: 'address1', 'address2', 'zip') and then added each dictionary into a list. I know I probably could have used more object oriented techniques, but this sounded easy enough. So here is the code that I am having trouble with:

#Removes all the entries that have are non-US or have an invalid zip and
    #all the entries that have the "DO NOT USE" or "DON'T USE" tag and
    #all the entries that start with an '*' in address1 or address2.
    for x in List[:]:
        #make the addresses uppercase
        add1 = x['address1'].upper()
        add2 = x['address2'].upper()
        if ((add1.find('DO') > -1 and add1.find('NOT') > -1) or add1.find("DON'T") > -1) and add1.find('USE') > -1:
            i = List.index(x)
            del(List[i])
        elif ((add2.find('DO') > -1 and add2.find('NOT') > -1) or add2.find("DON'T") > -1) and add2.find('USE') > -1:
            i = List.index(x)
            del(List[i])
        elif not x['zip'].isnumeric():
            i = List.index(x)
            del(List[i])
        elif add1[:1] == '*' or add2[:1] == '*':
            i = List.index(x)
            del(List[i])
            print(List[i])  #Output the line to check validity of entries removed