Is Java a good beginner's language?

• (2 Pages)
  • +

20 Replies - 9659 Views - Last Post: 24 October 2010 - 02:10 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Is Java a good beginner's language?

Posted 23 October 2010 - 03:38 PM

I have no technical background but am very interested in learning web programming. Is java a good language to begin with?
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Is Java a good beginner's language?

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: Is Java a good beginner's language?

Posted 23 October 2010 - 03:41 PM

I think Visual Basics is the best language to start with as it does a lot of the programming in the background and your graphical interfaces are pretty much drag and drop. It is also not case-sensitive or as strict as Java. It'll teach you the basic concepts used in programming in general.

Although, Java is not the worst language to start with, i'd recommend Visual Basics.
Was This Post Helpful? -11
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Regular

• View blog

Posted 23 October 2010 - 03:42 PM

If you want web programming, start with HTML. Then move on to PHP, Javascript or Pearl.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• Self-Trained Economist
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 23 October 2010 - 03:44 PM

It is a good introductory language, but not for web development. You really need a strong background with OOP before you touch Applets, which are the most basic web elements with Java, and this will take about 6 months from no prior programming experience. The Java EE platform is more geared towards web development, and it isn't something you want to start out with. Take a look at languages like PHP, ASP.NET, or ColdFusion instead.
Was This Post Helpful? 3
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 23 October 2010 - 03:58 PM

Thanks for the guidance, guys.
Before I found this forum, I signed up for a java programming course at my school. I hope I am not completely lost from day 1!
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head