8 Replies - 892 Views - Last Post: 13 November 2010 - 01:23 PM Rate Topic: -----

• D.I.C Regular
  • member icon

• View blog

Plz help me ease into a 2d/3d language

Posted 24 October 2010 - 05:46 PM

Hey, I'm a C# programmer and I really need some advice before I once again begin laboriously researching graphics programming (I keep giving up/ running out of time). I'm a C# programmer. I'm interested in designing an application that renders something, and I'm not sure what my next step will be. In the past, I've tried doing C++ DirectX and OpenGL tuts, and the ones on the web were cool... but.. kinda.. not enough to teach me how to do anything productive (or completely beyond me). So here's an outline of what I think an ideal tutorial series would be for teaching someone how to program a 2D scene:

I want to render molecular structures (2D for now) and since that's fairly simple (physics notwithstanding) it seems like an ideal subject for the tutorial series (let's consider ourselves to want to render basically what the tutorialist is drawing in this video http://www.youtube.c...v=3XiHrsZNZko):

Step 1 "Hello World": For a scene of just the atom H (hydrogen of course) I would like to draw a circle on the screen. I'd like the letter H to be smack dab right on top of the circle.

Step 2: I'd like to be able to render the proton + neutron (as just 1 circle labeled 'H') AND an electron.

Step 2.1: How to animate the electron to float along a path (circling the nucleolus)

Step 2.2: How to animate the electron so it looks like it's glowing and all "electric-like" for style points

Step 3: How to draw one of these such scenes in 3D

Step 4: Animate chemical reactions (where molecules are breaking apart/ coming together)

Step 4.5: Encapsulate molecules with.. nebulous, transparent bubbles to help delineate them as specific molecules (e.g. H2O would be encapsulated in a 'watery' looking sack that floats like a bubble-ish looking thing).