6 Replies - 1219 Views - Last Post: 06 November 2010 - 10:03 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Expert Programmers' Advice Requested!

Posted 01 November 2010 - 10:44 PM

I am posting this under C/C++ because I solely familiar with C, and I know there are plentyyyyy of experts here that are incredibly well- rounded among many languages. With that said, I would like some expert input. I am going to school for engineering, though I have become very interested in programming through a class I'm taking. I would like to know the steps I need to take to become a well- rounded programmer. So if anyone could provide some insight as to how they got to where they are today, that wouuld be great. I am mostly interested in learning this material on my own, because my college program has limited programming requirements.

Let me break this down. I am new to computer science/ information technology on the technical level. I would like to know the top languages out there that every good programmer should be familiar with along with any books you could recommend in learning these languages. I don't know anything as far as web development or web infrastructure but would like to become knowledegable in that as well. I figure that's also important to becoming a good programmer. I'm also interested in advice in general when it comes to programming. Basically, if I come up with an idea for a moneymaking program, I want to be able to implement it by myself (or with the help of you guyssss :bananaman:). A.K.A. I want to be a baller like you! Thanks for your help/ time!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Expert Programmers' Advice Requested!

• D.I.C Regular
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Expert Programmers' Advice Requested!

Posted 01 November 2010 - 11:15 PM

Web affiliate sites are a good way to make some money on the side. Check out the Amazon affiliate group and marketplace.
Ebay and Paypal also have similar options for affiliate sites.