7 Replies - 1215 Views - Last Post: 05 November 2010 - 01:41 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Trying To Set up a web server

Posted 03 November 2010 - 06:21 AM

Now I'm pretty new to this so please bare with me. I'm coding a site from scratch but can't seem to figure out how to set up a web server.

Is there any way I can set up a server on my personal computer, design and build the site ther, and then transfer it to a domain after?

I know this is probably a complex question but thanks.
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Trying To Set up a web server

• D.I.C Regular
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Trying To Set up a web server

Posted 03 November 2010 - 07:43 AM

This isn't really complicated.

First of all you would want a development environment, and a production environment.

A development environment would be on your own machine. This software is what you need. XAMPP is a server software that has a bundle (Apache, Mysql, PHP, Perl). This will allow you to code on your own machine for the mean time. It's much quicker then uploading to a server after every save. To run a file you just have to go to:
http://localhost/foldername/filename.php

It's as simple as that. To save your files you must save it in the htdocs folder. The htdocs folder is where you installed xampp. Usually on the C:\ drive.

Now for the server part. You should only pay for hosting when your done coding. Then you can rent a server for such little costs. I think the best one is Media Template.

Now to transfer file over to the server, you must have an FTP client. Connect to your server with the user and pass you chose. Navigate to where you have your files on your computer. Simply drag and drop them over. Sometimes if your website has a lot of files (Especially images) it might take some time. But not much.

Hope this Helps!

Cheers,
Daniel
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 03 November 2010 - 07:55 AM