Programming As A Discipline

My experience as a C.S. student so far...

Page 1 of 1

1 Replies - 387 Views - Last Post: 05 November 2010 - 07:06 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Programming As A Discipline

Posted 04 November 2010 - 10:56 PM

I'm a computer science student at a local community college. I've completed my core requirements (i.e. data structures, prog 1 + 2, etc...)but I still don't feel like I have a firm grasp on the fundamentals of software development, or that I've gained the necessary skills to continue pursuing my degree in C.S. at a four year school. Don't get me wrong, I understand that programming, and software development in general, is a huge field and that no one can expect to master it even after obtaining a degree. What I am frustrated with is the lack of structure and classroom discipline demonstrated by my C.S professors, and I don't think I'm the only one who has experienced this.

My C.S. classes were pretty unstructured; lectures were tedious and the professor would usually waste most of the lecture time talking about things completely unrelated to the topic; homework was rarely assigned, but when we did have an assignment the professor wouldn't grade it or provide any feedback on the code and grading was generous to say the least. Now, I know it's a community college, but I expected a certain level of structure and professionalism going in. I wanted to learn how to code and I knew that I would have to put in the time and effort myself, but I needed someone knowledgeable to provide me with some guidance and to help me set reasonable goals.