Please reset DIC's clock

Page 1 of 1

11 Replies - 577 Views - Last Post: 19 November 2010 - 04:20 PM

#1 r.stiltskin  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 1833
  • View blog
  • Posts: 4,927
  • Joined: 27-December 05

Please reset DIC's clock

Posted 19 November 2010 - 09:21 AM

From time to time, various members (including myself) have made posts regarding what seemed to be incorrect handling of time zones in DIC. I don't recall ever having seen a response. Maybe this is the EUREKA moment -- it is for me anyway.

Maybe I'm just stating the obvious, but I just noticed that DIC's clock is off by 1 hour. The current time is 04:21 PM GMT, but when I look at the Control Panel/Settings/General Settings and set the time zone to GMT, it says:
"The time (including your current adjustment) is: 19 November 2010 - 03:21 PM"

Please reset the clock.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Please reset DIC's clock

#2 modi123_1  Icon User is offline

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 8939
  • View blog
  • Posts: 33,521
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: Please reset DIC's clock

Posted 19 November 2010 - 09:54 AM

I would disagree - my time is set to Central US and it shows the right time. Do you have your DLST options wrong?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 r.stiltskin  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 1833
  • View blog
  • Posts: 4,927
  • Joined: 27-December 05

Re: Please reset DIC's clock

Posted 19 November 2010 - 10:12 AM

Right now, the actual GMT (standard) time is 5:12 PM. But on DIC, GMT is 4:12 PM whether I check the "DST Correction" (automatic adjustment) box or leave both DST boxes unchecked.

(Do you have your DLST options wrong?)

This post has been edited by r.stiltskin: 19 November 2010 - 10:13 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 rgfirefly24  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon


Reputation: 262
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,460
  • Joined: 07-April 08

Re: Please reset DIC's clock

Posted 19 November 2010 - 10:27 AM

I went into my control panel and noticed that my time (CST) was off by one hour aswell. I did get it to correct itself by unchecking the DST Correction and checking Currently in DST?

This post has been edited by rgfirefly24: 19 November 2010 - 10:28 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 r.stiltskin  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 1833
  • View blog
  • Posts: 4,927
  • Joined: 27-December 05

Re: Please reset DIC's clock

Posted 19 November 2010 - 10:29 AM

Yes, but that's NOT correct. Unless I'm mistaken, nobody in the northern hemisphere is on DST now. So you are forced to set your options wrong in order to see the "right" time.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 r.stiltskin  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 1833
  • View blog
  • Posts: 4,927
  • Joined: 27-December 05

Re: Please reset DIC's clock

Posted 19 November 2010 - 10:37 AM

I just closed the browser window, deleted my DIC cookies & then reopened this thread (without logging in). Looking at the time shown for my Post #1 above, it seems that DIC's server is on Pacific Standard Time. If that's true, I'm guessing there's an error in the webpage where GMT is being calculated.

Was the server previously located in the Mountain time zone? Is GMT being calculated as "local standard time + 7 hours" (which would be correct in, say, Albuquerque). For PST, the adjustment should be 8 hours.

This post has been edited by r.stiltskin: 19 November 2010 - 10:48 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 modi123_1  Icon User is offline

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 8939
  • View blog
  • Posts: 33,521
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: Please reset DIC's clock

Posted 19 November 2010 - 01:56 PM

Mine is set to CST and 'DTS correction' on. It's right as rain as is are my post times.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#8 r.stiltskin  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 1833
  • View blog
  • Posts: 4,927
  • Joined: 27-December 05

Re: Please reset DIC's clock

Posted 19 November 2010 - 02:08 PM

View Postmodi123_1, on 19 November 2010 - 03:56 PM, said:

Mine is set to CST and 'DTS correction' on. It's right as rain as is are my post times.

Then why is it that mine, set to GMT, says 8:08 PM (same with DST correction set on or off) when it is now actually 9:08 GMT. Or, if I set it to Eastern Time with DST correction set to on, says 3:08 PM when the local time here (NY) is actually 4:08? (And the same applies with DST correction off.)

This post has been edited by r.stiltskin: 19 November 2010 - 02:09 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#9 r.stiltskin  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 1833
  • View blog
  • Posts: 4,927
  • Joined: 27-December 05

Re: Please reset DIC's clock

Posted 19 November 2010 - 02:31 PM

View Postr.stiltskin, on 19 November 2010 - 02:08 PM, said:

View Postmodi123_1, on 19 November 2010 - 03:56 PM, said:

Mine is set to CST and 'DTS correction' on. It's right as rain as is are my post times.

Then why is it that mine, set to GMT, says 8:08 PM (same with DST correction set on or off) when it is now actually 9:08 GMT. Or, if I set it to Eastern Time with DST correction set to on, says 3:08 PM when the local time here (NY) is actually 4:08? (And the same applies with DST correction off.)


How's this? I just set my profile to Central Time, with DST correction on. So it says that my time is now 2:30 PM. (I think you'll agree that YOUR actual CST is 3:30.)

And look at the times on the quotes above. My reply to you is timestamped EARLIER than your post which I quoted. What's going on? (I don't see how anything in my machine could account for that. It must be something in the website or the server, right?)

This post has been edited by r.stiltskin: 19 November 2010 - 02:33 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#10 r.stiltskin  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 1833
  • View blog
  • Posts: 4,927
  • Joined: 27-December 05

Re: Please reset DIC's clock

Posted 19 November 2010 - 03:59 PM

I can't believe that I'm the only one that this is happening to. (I'm using Firefox 3.6.12 in Ubuntu 8.04, but the same thing is happening with Windows and Internet Explorer.) Who else is this having this problem and what is your timezone setting?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#11 n8wxs  Icon User is offline

  • --... ...-- -.. . -. ---.. .-- -..- ...
  • member icon

Reputation: 972
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3,878
  • Joined: 07-January 08

Re: Please reset DIC's clock

Posted 19 November 2010 - 04:17 PM

It's 4:16pm here in Sheridan, WY.Attached Image
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#12 Atli  Icon User is online

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 3712
  • View blog
  • Posts: 5,964
  • Joined: 08-June 10

Re: Please reset DIC's clock

Posted 19 November 2010 - 04:20 PM

I've noticed this as well. I'm on GMT without any sort of daylight-savings nonsense, but UNLESS I check "Currently in DST?" the time I get is GMT -1 hour. With it checked I get the correct time.

Didn't really think much off it. Just assumed there was a minor bug somewhere that reversed the effects of the DST thing.

What bugs me more is not being able to turn the damn AM/PM thing off.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1