9 Replies - 12442 Views - Last Post: 27 November 2010 - 07:11 PM Rate Topic: -----

#1 Guest_Jonez*

Save to file in C#

Posted 26 November 2010 - 03:34 PM

In my Main I create a bunch of arrays with results of stuff, now I need to create a file and save it all to it. Can anyone point me in the right direction to go about doing this, like a website that could explain. I am a beginner and I know how to make a method to create a file I just don't know how you would tell the program to take all those results, create a file and put those results in it.

Thanks,
Jonez
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0

Replies To: Save to file in C#

• D.I.C Addict
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Save to file in C#

Posted 26 November 2010 - 04:05 PM

Hello there,

The easiest way to write to a file is using the StreamWriter class. Here is a link to the MSDN documentation on the class: http://msdn.microsof.../3ssew6tk.aspx.

Here is a little snippet to get you started:

using(StreamWriter writer = new StreamWriter(@"FilePathGoesHere")){

writer.WriteLine("Hello, World!");

}

That would simply write "Hello, World!" to the file pointed to by the file path (presumably it would be a .txt file in this case). If the file exists, then it will open the file and wrtie to it. If it doesn't exist, it will create the file and write to it! The 'using' statement is just a means of ensuring the resources occupied by the StreamWriter object are released and disposed of. It means that you do not have to explicitly close the stream yourself using:

writer.Close() //in the context of the above example

If you want to open an existing file that already has text in, and you want to add text onto the end of the file, use this line in place of the corresponding line above:

using(StreamWriter writer = new StreamWriter(@"FilePathGoesHere",true)){ }

I have just added an extra arguement. That just says, 'I want to append text onto the end of this file, rather than overwrite the existing file'.