3 Replies - 996 Views - Last Post: 06 December 2010 - 06:57 AM

#1 Guest_Chris*

Local Dev Meetings ( i'm scared )

Posted 05 December 2010 - 06:37 PM

Hi guys! My name is Chris and I'll preface this post by saying the following:
1. I never finished college
2. I don't have a developer job
3. I work as a stocker/puller in a warehouse

But i've been teaching myself all about computer programming/computer science for 3 almost 4 years now. And I feel confident in my skills as a developer but I don't know how i measure up to other developers who have gone through traditional schooling.

So here's the deal. My friend told me about a local developer meeting being held tomorrow that I am really wanting to go to. The topic of the first meeting is "IT Hiring and Compensation Trends" and also there's another talk right after thats about some TDD stuff. I'm very interested in both meetings.

My problem is that I know that at meetings dev's get together and talk about work related things to each other and I'll have nothing work related to talk about because I don't have an IT job. When I talk to my friend about developer stuff I feel very knowledgeable and comfortable. My friend finished college and has a nice developer job paying 6 figures. I guess what I want to know is do you guys think I should go to the meetings or not?

I feel like in my current situation I will be looked down upon until i get a degree in CS or a job in the IT field. Am I crazy for thinking all of this? What should I do?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0

Replies To: Local Dev Meetings ( i'm scared )

• Self-Trained Economist
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Local Dev Meetings ( i'm scared )

Posted 05 December 2010 - 06:45 PM