3 Replies - 1784 Views - Last Post: 07 December 2010 - 11:08 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head
  • member icon

• View blog

P2P connection

Posted 05 December 2010 - 11:49 PM

Here is what I'm doing. This is my first project, and its going to be a simple fighting game. Its going to be glorified rock, paper, scissors. I'm going to have a couple different characters people can pick from, and play vs computer or a second player. Is there a way(how would I do it) to do an online fight against another person(obviously I'd need a server or something to run this through) or could i do a direct connect to their ip address?

Again, this is my first program, so this is a little more advanced than I'm capable of, but any help would be appreciated.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: P2P connection

• D.I.C Head
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: P2P connection

Posted 06 December 2010 - 12:18 AM

P2P Connection is always a bit tricky (firewall, router-config, etc.).

Anyway, define a class to handle the communiction. You need the IP-Address and a port to handle it. Make a method to send a command and one that listens on the port to retrieve a message.
Read some infos on wikipedia of network communictation to get some ideas how to improve it.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 06 December 2010 - 11:45 AM

You will want to look at TcpListener and TcpClient

You can have the client start a TcpListener if the player chooses to host a game and you could have the client start a TcpClient if it's going to be connecting to a host.

As far as the firewall and router issues go you will want to look up UpNp for port forwarding.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 07 December 2010 - 11:08 AM