3 Replies - 2064 Views - Last Post: 10 December 2010 - 03:46 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

RealFlow and Python integration

Posted 10 December 2010 - 03:22 PM

Hello all,

I use RealFlow, a dynamics/fluids simulation program, and it uses Python scripting. So, I got Python for Dummies ebook, I started to read it and I just couldn't grasp the idea. I am a Graphic Designer/2D and 3D Animator. I just couldn't see how Python would integrate into the RealFlow program.

Could someone tell me what I would be able to do with python in RealFlow?

I'm just curious. I think Python is the hardest program I've ever attemted to learn on my own.

I can't grasp why I would use something like this in RealFlow:
>>> 3.2 # canonical
>>> str(3.2) # nice
'3. 2'
>>> repr(3.2) # canonical
'3.2000000000000002'
>>> print 3.2 # nice

and what the hell does this mean?:
>>> "monty python" # This is an expression and a
literal.
'monty python'
>>> x = 25 # This is a statement. 25 is a
literal.
>>> x # This is an expression.
>>> 2 in [1, 2, 3] # This is also an expression.
True
>>> def foo(): # This is a statement.
... return 1 # return is a statement; 1 is an
expression.
>>> foo() # foo is a name; foo() is an
expression.

Thank you.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: RealFlow and Python integration

• Pythoneer
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: RealFlow and Python integration

Posted 10 December 2010 - 03:31 PM

Hello friend. The first 4 lines you used were examples of how Python doesn't have ABSOLUTE precision. Think of the fraction 1/3, if we were to write that as a decimal, the value would be .333333333333333333333333333333333333- forever. Values in a computer are stored in binary code, ie 1's and 0's. In binary, the value 3.2 can't be expressed as a rational number. That being said, it's very accurate up to 17 digits, so try not to worry too much about precision.