2 Replies - 2011 Views - Last Post: 23 December 2010 - 10:03 AM Rate Topic: -----

#1 _Leon  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 16
  • Joined: 16-December 10

Send to facebook button

Posted 16 December 2010 - 11:36 AM

hi
I'm working on an app over here which has a 'send to facebook' button displayed just under the header of the page. The application is written in PHP and calls on templates [see templates attached] throughout. The button in question is highlighted in the [templates1 screen shot ] and it generates this code:



<a class="addthis_button_preferred_1 addthis_button_facebook at300b" 
href="http://www.addthis.com/bookmark.php?v=250&amp;winname=addthis&amp;pub=xa-4cb9a349408ca125&amp;source=tbx-250&amp;
lng=en&amp;s=facebook&amp;url=http%3A%2F%2Ftodayscitydeals.com%2Findex.php&amp;title=Today's%20City%20Deals%20-%20Today's%20
City%20Deals%7CBury%20GroupBuy%7CBury%20Voucher%7CBury%20Discount&amp;
ate=AT-xa-4cb9a349408ca125/-/-/4d0a3ebae8772deb/1/4d0a3c6ee97d1805&amp;ips=1&amp;uid=4d0a3c6ee97d1805&amp;
CXNID=2000001.5215456080540439074NXC&amp;pre=http%3A%2F%2Ftodayscitydeals.com%2Fmanage%2Fsystem%2Ftemplate.php%3F
id%3Dblock_team_share.html&amp;tt=0" target="_blank" title="Send to Facebook"><span class="at300bs at15t_facebook"></span></a>
<span class="at300bs at15t_facebook"></span>




Upon clicking the button, a user should be taken to facebook and if they're logged in should see an image and a summary of the deal they were viewing on the website. The script is working to a fashion, but is displaying incorrect information [see fb1 screen-shot attached please.] I.e. If I'm viewing TakeThat, then if I hit the send to facebook button, I should see the same (TakeThat NOT the Handyman!) in a Facebook window. The deal/information shown in the screen shot is from another deal; one which has subsequently expired.

The app is something I have inherited and have no documentation or user manual whatsover, hence, I'm in a bit of pickle.:) Me thinks it's something to do with my script not sending the correct URL query string parameters to Facebooks Javascript SDK or something similar, but am taking a bit of a stab.

Are there any Facebook API ninjas out there willing to give me some help?

best

L :)

Attached image(s)

  • Attached Image
  • Attached Image
  • Attached Image


Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Send to facebook button

#2 skyhawk133  Icon User is offline

  • Head DIC Head
  • member icon

Reputation: 1865
  • View blog
  • Posts: 20,278
  • Joined: 17-March 01

Re: Send to facebook button

Posted 16 December 2010 - 12:16 PM

It looks like you're using the AddThis service which we use here at Dream.In.Code as well.

This is the actual facebook URL that is used to share a page:

http://www.facebook....ebook-button%2F

And this will be your best resource for sharing things on facebook: http://www.facebook.com/share/ (can't get it to load right now though)
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#3 _Leon  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 16
  • Joined: 16-December 10

Re: Send to facebook button

Posted 23 December 2010 - 10:03 AM

hey
bit late but +1, thanks for that!

L :)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1