Best Free Cross-Platform, GUI-Toolkit?

for creating a multilingual IDE

Page 1 of 1

7 Replies - 7344 Views - Last Post: 18 December 2010 - 01:32 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Best Free Cross-Platform, GUI-Toolkit?

Posted 17 December 2010 - 04:47 AM

Greetings!

What's the best [free] cross-platform GUI-Toolkit?

There seem to be a large range of toolkits available, [see List of GUI Toolkits], and since I've never coded GUI before, I thought to ask here.

Preferably I'm looking for a toolkit which can be packaged into a single binary (ie; without .dll or .o files), for a project I'm about to begin.

My project entails creating a very lightweight IDE, with support for the most popular, compiled programming-languages.

Please recommend the toolkit which you think would be best suit this project.

Thank you,

Alec Taylor

This post has been edited by AlecTaylor: 17 December 2010 - 04:53 AM

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Best Free Cross-Platform, GUI-Toolkit?

• D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Best Free Cross-Platform, GUI-Toolkit?

Posted 17 December 2010 - 07:03 AM

Let me guess: you're most familiar with Windows but you want your project to run on a Mac or Linux box too. Many have tried, few (if any) have succeeded. First, you're bound to violate the UI conventions of one of the platforms, second, one way or another you're going to end up translating blocks of code from one platform to the other. This will result in inferior code on the ported platform. Just look at MS Office for the Mac: it's a bloated piece of crap.

Add to the above the fact that you've "never coded GUI before" and you see the odds that you'll create something decent for other platforms than your primary platform are extremely low.

This post has been edited by CTphpnwb: 17 December 2010 - 07:04 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• member icon

• View blog

Posted 17 December 2010 - 07:36 AM