• +
  • Last »

75 Replies - 52366 Views - Last Post: 11 August 2014 - 06:54 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Am I too old to start programming?

Posted 20 December 2010 - 01:29 AM

POPULAR

The title says it all...Hopefully I won't get in trouble as I consider this primarily a career question.

Long story short, I'm bored to tears with what has become my career. I did an enlistment in the military where I got into IT doing the typical Microsoft Certified Engineer and Cisco stuff for a few years, and then eventually got into technology sales. I'm a very good salesman and the money is good (low six figures), but the truth is it is mind numbing work, and frankly not very challenging at this point. I have run a couple of side business successfully and feel I'm a pretty well rounded businessman.

After having done all that I have finally realized that I was happiest doing IT because of the constant challenge and problem solving that was part of the job. I have also recently realized that my entire career has really been about service, and what I want is to be able to actually create. Between science, engineering and programming I think I would enjoy programming the most. I have what I believe to be some very good ideas for software and web sites and I would like to attempt to learn how to bring those ideas to fruition.

So at the ripe old age of 32 could I take up programming as a career?

I have something like $50,000 of education money from my military career that is untouched, so school isn't completely out of the question.

Feel free to be brutal.

PS I would honestly be happy making $65,000 a year for awhile if it meant doing something interesting again. I've bought all the stupid toys I thought would make me happy, and they are only a minor diversion for a truly boring career.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 25
  • +

Replies To: Am I too old to start programming?

• I am a spoon
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Am I too old to start programming?