• +

72 Replies - 44330 Views - Last Post: 29 May 2014 - 02:29 AM

• D.I.C Head
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Am I too old to start programming?

Posted 21 December 2010 - 04:13 PM

Short and to the point::
You are never too old to do anything you WANT to do.

Goodluck in your journey!

This post has been edited by Scottm: 21 December 2010 - 04:14 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 21 December 2010 - 11:47 PM

Do not worry about your age. I would be considered over-the-hill, but instead I am camping out at the top, watching some people claw themselves up one side and roll down the other.You have background you can start up businesses or as others have mentioned do support work. I am just getting into programming so I can use it when I retire (which is not very far off). Any type of learning experience is good.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Addict

• View blog

Posted 22 December 2010 - 06:54 AM

View PostPhyrepower, on 20 December 2010 - 06:38 PM, said:

View PostAlbuquerqueApache, on 20 December 2010 - 05:00 PM, said:

since when is 32 old???!??!?!?! :helpsmilie:

I know people in their 50s and 60s getting into I.T. at my organization. Granted their not programmers, but its happening.

Anyway, I don't think your age has anything to do with it and a true interest is fuel for the fire.

Plus, if you have 50k in education funds, heck yeah, I'd say go find yourself a decent school or program and start taking courses (if you want to). I think the advantage of college is that they have a game plan which builds a foundation for you, its up to you ultimately to build upon that. It's not the end all be all unless your planning a trip to MIT/Caltech.

I always get discouraged when I hear older people putting themselves down because they think they CANT learn something or do something. I'm also annoyed by people who use it as an excuse for entitlement.