14 Replies - 1241 Views - Last Post: 29 December 2010 - 12:19 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

new to programming in python and in general

Posted 21 December 2010 - 09:29 PM

Hey everybody,brand new to programming in general.I read somewhere on google that python should be the doorway into programming because its easy to learn yet powerful.My end goal is to make games starting off in "small" games as in maybe psn or xbox live or maybe android,ipod/iphone/ipad games then moving up from there.So with that being said is python a good choice to start off in and what language should i go from here if any?
I just started learning python yesterday and can make a hello world app,and hi-whats-your-name and display the txt the user wrote app without reffering to the book now.Yayy!! lol (i know, I Know)

This post has been edited by akareem27: 21 December 2010 - 09:30 PM

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 2
  • +

Replies To: new to programming in python and in general

• Programming Theoretician
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: new to programming in python and in general

Posted 21 December 2010 - 10:21 PM

Well, like all programming languages some are better suited to certain tasks that others. This is not to diss on python by any means, it is a great language to learn from and yeah, it is powerful. But if you are looking to do ps3 or xbox stuff, you might want to take a look at languages like C# and doing stuff through XNA. As for mobile, it is almost all Java or Objective-C.

Now since you are brand new to programming, any language like Python is going to do nothing but help you so I recommend you keep going with what you are doing. It will help you move to other languages faster that will get you in the track for game programming or mobile development. If you are feeling adventurous, try giving Java a shot. If you have a mac, try objective-C. The learning curve on those are not too bad either and you will be right in line for what you are doing.