9 Replies - 1256 Views - Last Post: 23 December 2010 - 04:13 PM

• 私もクールです

• View blog

Company Acquisition

Posted 22 December 2010 - 06:51 AM

POPULAR

The company I work for was recently acquired by a large successful public corporation and I wanted to know if anyone has had experience with that, positive or negative. Of course, the senior management team touts the acquisition as a positive across the board, but I think some areas of our present company will languish due to lack of interest, which means that several of my friends could be laid off. But, supposedly, no one is getting laid off at least that's the official statement.

Experiences? Thoughts?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 6
  • +

Replies To: Company Acquisition

• D.I.C Lover

• View blog

Re: Company Acquisition

Posted 22 December 2010 - 07:02 AM

Well, I have some limited experience with this, the company I work for is very good at acquiring and absorbing other companies, and it seems to me that it's marketing and management that get the chop before the engineers who actually know the product. We bought out a pretty big multinational company a couple of years ago and I work with engineers who have been with the bought company for many years to get their products integrated with our own.
Of course I can't say what will happen to you, but these companies have enough stock in their HR strategies to know that a successful company is made up of successful employees, and they're just wasting money by letting them all go right off the bat. And look on the bright side, this could just mean more directions in which to move with your current employer, more resources for your company and a potentially higher ceiling.
Was This Post Helpful? 4
  • +
  • -

• I make this look good
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 22 December 2010 - 07:43 AM

POPULAR

Yeah...I too have some experience with this phenomenon as I've been through it twice. The short synopsis for me was: it sucks.