Advice for Brand new dev Getting into Game Programming

help please to steer me in the right direction

• (2 Pages)
  • +

18 Replies - 2618 Views - Last Post: 18 January 2011 - 05:36 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Advice for Brand new dev Getting into Game Programming

Posted 26 December 2010 - 09:42 AM

I am a total noob when it comes to game development. I am here and joined this great site to get help I need.

I enjoy a game right now called "Dogs of the seas" I want to make my own game on that same engine. not exactly the same engine(unless I could) to make my own ganme in another style.

A war based game unlike the pirate theme the engine runs now. Something with pvp and mmo

Can someone tell me, as a noob with no experience if its possible for me to accomplish this? Without enrolling for 75k a at Mainsail. Something I can do from home?

I want this to become a reality. This site was my first step in doing that.

This post has been edited by macosxnerd101: 26 December 2010 - 09:45 AM
Reason for edit:: Title renamed to be more descriptive

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Advice for Brand new dev Getting into Game Programming

#2 macosxnerd101  Icon User is online

• Games, Graphs, and Auctions
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Advice for Brand new dev Getting into Game Programming

Posted 26 December 2010 - 09:50 AM

*Moved to Game Programming from Flash for more discussion*

An MMO isn't something you're going to be able to make overnight. You're honestly biting off a ton, especially if you don't have a ton of experience. Aim for smaller projects to gain skills. Familiarize yourself with database design and interactions. Learn some web development. Pick up some client-side/desktop programming as well. This is something that takes teams of developers years to do, and is not an easy task. And also considser the other aspects like Graphics, music/sound, plot, testing, etc.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -