12 Replies - 1114 Views - Last Post: 29 December 2010 - 04:11 AM

#1 _Umar  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 43
  • Joined: 24-December 08

Website wont show in IE

Posted 26 December 2010 - 02:19 PM

Hi,
I just made a new website, and I was viewing it on firefox while coding, When I was done coding it into HTML, I viewed it in Chrome, it displayed just fine.
BUT then I went to check it on Internet Explorer for making it cross browser, And all I got there was a blank page, a simple white page :whatsthat:
I went in source code, and shows all the code there, but nothing on the front end :( , So if any has any idea or suggestion, I will be very thank full cause I am going nuts trying to figure it out :taz:

The link to the website is here:
Link to website

And I wrote all of my code on Notepad++ .

Regards
Umar

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Website wont show in IE

#2 moopet  Icon User is offline

  • binary decision maker
  • member icon

Reputation: 339
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,185
  • Joined: 02-April 09

Re: Website wont show in IE

Posted 26 December 2010 - 02:36 PM

The site looks sound to me. I'd suggest taking out all the scripts you've got and seeing if it works then?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 _Umar  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 43
  • Joined: 24-December 08

Re: Website wont show in IE

Posted 26 December 2010 - 02:45 PM

Hi,
Thanks for our reply,

I just deleted all the scripts code (google translator & jquery slider ) on localhost and ran it, But still there is nothing displaying on IE.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 EnvXOwner  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 357
  • View blog
  • Posts: 2,319
  • Joined: 10-August 09

Re: Website wont show in IE

Posted 26 December 2010 - 03:40 PM

View Post_Umar, on 26 December 2010 - 03:45 PM, said:

Hi,
Thanks for our reply,

I just deleted all the scripts code (google translator & jquery slider ) on localhost and ran it, But still there is nothing displaying on IE.

I too get the same problem you appear to be getting in IE. What version of IE are you using? I'm using IE9. All I get is a blank screen with a title.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 moopet  Icon User is offline

  • binary decision maker
  • member icon

Reputation: 339
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,185
  • Joined: 02-April 09

Re: Website wont show in IE

Posted 26 December 2010 - 04:39 PM

Actually, this is odd.

If I use wget to check your page, I get a 404. If I use curl, I get the correct page. On further investigaion:
moopet@shoshone:~$ telnet kinflex.net.tc 80
Trying 188.40.70.29...
Connected to kinflex.net.tc.
Escape character is '^]'.
GET /rs/ HTTP/1.1
Host: kinflex.net.tc

HTTP/1.1 404 Not Found
Server: BladeStorm/1
Date: Sun, 26 Dec 2010 23:36:50 GMT
Content-Type: text/html
Connection: keep-alive
Content-Length: 1921

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN">
<html><!-- [ smartdots.com ] -->
<head><title>-:: KinFlex ::-</title>
<meta http-equiv=content-type content="text/html; charset=UTF-8">
...



Your page is returning the correct HTML but the server is giving an HTTP status code of 404. Internet Exploiter is actually behaving correctly (or more correctly) in not displaying the page, while other browsers are just ignoring the discrepancy.

Basically, you're either doing something funky with mod_rewrite or you've got a line of code somewhere that's setting the response header code to 404.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 EnvXOwner  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 357
  • View blog
  • Posts: 2,319
  • Joined: 10-August 09

Re: Website wont show in IE

Posted 26 December 2010 - 05:54 PM

lol. I know that this may be trolling, but "Internet Exploiter" was funny!

This post has been edited by EnvXOwner: 26 December 2010 - 05:54 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 drhowarddrfine  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular

Reputation: 39
  • View blog
  • Posts: 275
  • Joined: 28-July 10

Re: Website wont show in IE

Posted 26 December 2010 - 08:39 PM

View Postmoopet, on 26 December 2010 - 04:39 PM, said:

Internet Exploiter is actually behaving correctly (or more correctly) in not displaying the page, while other browsers are just ignoring the discrepancy.

Actually, it's IE that's ignoring things. He's send 404 on the first GET but it's sent a second time later with a 200 response. The modern browsers are grabbing that and displaying it.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#8 EnvXOwner  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 357
  • View blog
  • Posts: 2,319
  • Joined: 10-August 09

Re: Website wont show in IE

Posted 26 December 2010 - 09:16 PM

View Postdrhowarddrfine, on 26 December 2010 - 09:39 PM, said:

View Postmoopet, on 26 December 2010 - 04:39 PM, said:

Internet Exploiter is actually behaving correctly (or more correctly) in not displaying the page, while other browsers are just ignoring the discrepancy.

Actually, it's IE that's ignoring things. He's send 404 on the first GET but it's sent a second time later with a 200 response. The modern browsers are grabbing that and displaying it.

IE9, a modern web browser, (which is still in beta) doesn't display the web page.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#9 moopet  Icon User is offline

  • binary decision maker
  • member icon

Reputation: 339
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,185
  • Joined: 02-April 09

Re: Website wont show in IE

Posted 27 December 2010 - 05:51 AM

I only just noticed your site's hosted somewhere completely different and the page you're showing us holds it in an iframe. The remote site doesn't work in IE either, but that might explain the 404 _and_ 200.
I haven't got time to look now, though, apparently I have to give gifts to children or something.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#10 drhowarddrfine  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular

Reputation: 39
  • View blog
  • Posts: 275
  • Joined: 28-July 10

Re: Website wont show in IE

Posted 27 December 2010 - 06:01 AM

View PostEnvXOwner, on 26 December 2010 - 09:16 PM, said:

IE9, a modern web browser, (which is still in beta) doesn't display the web page.

Not to get OT but, no, IE9 is not a modern browser. Today it is behind all others in modern standards and practices. When it comes out later this year, it will be even further behind. Inept at best.

This post has been edited by drhowarddrfine: 27 December 2010 - 06:01 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#11 EnvXOwner  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 357
  • View blog
  • Posts: 2,319
  • Joined: 10-August 09

Re: Website wont show in IE

Posted 27 December 2010 - 07:39 AM

View Postdrhowarddrfine, on 27 December 2010 - 07:01 AM, said:

View PostEnvXOwner, on 26 December 2010 - 09:16 PM, said:

IE9, a modern web browser, (which is still in beta) doesn't display the web page.

Not to get OT but, no, IE9 is not a modern browser. Today it is behind all others in modern standards and practices. When it comes out later this year, it will be even further behind. Inept at best.

Correct you are, sir. The only reason I consider IE9 somewhat of a modern browser is because it has some (limited) support for HTML5 and CSS3.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#12 moopet  Icon User is offline

  • binary decision maker
  • member icon

Reputation: 339
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,185
  • Joined: 02-April 09

Re: Website wont show in IE

Posted 27 December 2010 - 10:38 AM

OK, I just posted this and DIC broke completely, so here goes a summarisation:
Your IE conditional comments are broken. They should end with <![endif]--> and you've got them ending with <!endif-->. Sort that, the page displays (or it does on my local copy, anyway)
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#13 _Umar  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 43
  • Joined: 24-December 08

Re: Website wont show in IE

Posted 29 December 2010 - 04:11 AM

View Postmoopet, on 27 December 2010 - 09:38 AM, said:

OK, I just posted this and DIC broke completely, so here goes a summarisation:
Your IE conditional comments are broken. They should end with <![endif]--> and you've got them ending with <!endif-->. Sort that, the page displays (or it does on my local copy, anyway)



Hi,
Thanks for all your replies, Sorry I didnt replied i got stuck in some problem, and yes you are right the problem was in those
<!--[if IE 6]> .......
<!--[if IE 7]> .......

I just removed those and site is working now.

And about the Iframe, its on a free host I think, I was just giving the FTP to put the files there. So the free host much have added them there.

Thanks again for all your Help.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1