2 Replies - 12848 Views - Last Post: 17 November 2006 - 08:09 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Passing a value from a form to a VB DataReport

Posted 13 November 2006 - 05:06 PM

Is it possible to pass a value from a form to a DataReport?

I'm using VB6, and would like to take the contents of text box txtInvoiceNumber and pass that value to a data report, thus generating an invoice based on the invoice number on the screen. I don't see any obvious means of doing this.

Coming from a MS ACCESS background, I can set up an SQL statement like :

SELECT * FROM INVOICES WHERE INVOICENUMBER = [FORMS!INVOICES!txtInvoiceNumber] 

and run a report based on that query.

I'm not really looking for a chunk of code per se, inasmuch as I'm looking for the general syntax as to how to pass the value from a form to the report. Please let me know if I'm mising any vital info, I'll be more than happy to post it (forgive me, I'm a newbie here...LOL)

Thanks - T

This post has been edited by Big T: 13 November 2006 - 05:26 PM

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Passing a value from a form to a VB DataReport

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: Passing a value from a form to a VB DataReport

Posted 16 November 2006 - 12:50 AM

View PostBig T, on 13 Nov, 2006 - 05:06 PM, said:

I'm using VB6, and would like to take the contents of text box txtInvoiceNumber and pass that value to a data report, thus generating an invoice based on the invoice number on the screen. I don't see any obvious means of doing this.

I'm not really looking for a chunk of code per se, inasmuch as I'm looking for the general syntax as to how to pass the value from a form to the report. Please let me know if I'm mising any vital info, I'll be more than happy to post it (forgive me, I'm a newbie here...LOL)

Thanks - T

you can try something like this

rptMyReport.Sections("PageHeader").Controls("lblInvoiceNo").Caption = txtInvoiceNumber.text

rptMyReport.show