Would somebody with my specifications be able to land a job?

MSc Economics, no CS degree, little hobby experience

Page 1 of 1

4 Replies - 860 Views - Last Post: 05 January 2011 - 11:09 PM

#1 Guest_skifozoa*

Would somebody with my specifications be able to land a job?

Posted 03 January 2011 - 08:07 PM

Hello everyone

Last year I graduated as an economics master and this year I'm following a research master in economics but I desperately want a 'career change'. I think a career in programming would suit my preferences, however I wouldn't know whether further formal schooling would be required or on the job (and free time) experience would suffice. I hope that some of you could shed some light on it given following short introduction.

I have always liked programming since I was first introduced to turbo pascal in secondary school (age 12 - 18). I further experimented with HTML, CSS, Javascript, PHP, etc. in secondary school, making SQL database driven websites (guestbooks, newsfeed, etc...) for our school paper.

At university I had one programming course on VB.NET and had to program different kinds of estimators in MATLAB for a statistics course. Next to this, In my third year I also taught myself the basics of Flash Action Script and programmed both a snooker game engine and a multiplayer online stratego application for fun.

I would adore an entry level job as programmer which would allow me to build experience while at the same time giving me a much needed income from a job that I would actually enjoy. However I'm afraid the little experience I have is not sufficient and I would need more formal training but I don't have the financial means (moved in with my girlfriend who pays for my studies at the moment combined with parental aid) to go through another year of university (this is my sixth year) and I'm tired of not getting on with my life, I'm 23 but enough non essential info...