6 Replies - 3200 Views - Last Post: 07 January 2011 - 05:25 PM Rate Topic: -----

#1 realdreamincode  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 05-January 11

Using Command Prompt in VB6

Posted 05 January 2011 - 07:09 AM

Hi everybody
I want to use the command prompt tool which is specially developed for visual studio . I can use it in visual studio 2010 from start menu folder :
Start -> All Programs -> Microsoft Visual Studio 2010 -> Visual Studio Tools -> Visual Studio Command Prompt(2010)
but I could not find it in Microsoft Visual Studio 6.0 Tools :sad3: . so , if any one knows where I can find it please help me out of this . all help is appreciated .

This post has been edited by realdreamincode: 05 January 2011 - 07:13 AM


Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Using Command Prompt in VB6

#2 modi123_1  Icon User is offline

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 8377
  • View blog
  • Posts: 31,135
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: Using Command Prompt in VB6

Posted 05 January 2011 - 07:56 AM

Have you checked microsoft documentation to see if that tool was even a part of VB6? It is quite possible it was only added on later.

aaaaand it looks like it was built with the .NET framework. Sorry - no command prompt in vb6.
http://msdn.microsof...y/ms229859.aspx

This post has been edited by modi123_1: 05 January 2011 - 07:57 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 Guest_realdreamincode*


Reputation:

Re: Using Command Prompt in VB6

Posted 05 January 2011 - 10:36 AM

View Postmodi123_1, on 05 January 2011 - 06:56 AM, said:

Have you checked microsoft documentation to see if that tool was even a part of VB6? It is quite possible it was only added on later.

aaaaand it looks like it was built with the .NET framework. Sorry - no command prompt in vb6.
http://msdn.microsof...y/ms229859.aspx


thank you so much modi123_1 . but I'm still wondering if there is a way to access the IDE commands in writing to build a vb application ? !!!!!! :/
Was This Post Helpful? 0

#4 maj3091  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 299
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,755
  • Joined: 26-March 09

Re: Using Command Prompt in VB6

Posted 05 January 2011 - 10:53 AM

Not sure what commands you want to run from the command prompt, but you can call VB6 from the command prompt?

Maybe I'm misunderstanding the question, but if you call
vb6.exe /?
from a command prompt you will get a list of options.

Not sure if that helps at all??

This post has been edited by modi123_1: 05 January 2011 - 11:38 AM
Reason for edit:: fixed botched code tags

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 realdreamincode  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 05-January 11

Re: Using Command Prompt in VB6

Posted 05 January 2011 - 05:59 PM

View Postmaj3091, on 05 January 2011 - 09:53 AM, said:

Not sure what commands you want to run from the command prompt, but you can call VB6 from the command prompt?

Maybe I'm misunderstanding the question, but if you call
vb6.exe /?
from a command prompt you will get a list of options.

Not sure if that helps at all??


thanks for help . but that isn't what I mean . what I want to do is to control in vb6 to build some application using command lines ( NOT the IDE ) .
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 maj3091  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 299
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,755
  • Joined: 26-March 09

Re: Using Command Prompt in VB6

Posted 06 January 2011 - 12:59 AM

Calling vb6.exe /make from the command line will build an application.

Have a look at THIS link.

Once again, sorry if I misunderstood.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 realdreamincode  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 05-January 11

Re: Using Command Prompt in VB6

Posted 07 January 2011 - 05:25 PM

View Postmaj3091, on 05 January 2011 - 11:59 PM, said:

Calling vb6.exe /make from the command line will build an application.

Have a look at THIS link.

Once again, sorry if I misunderstood.


thank you maj3091 very much . that was the point , it helped me alot . :)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1