8 Replies - 937 Views - Last Post: 07 January 2011 - 09:45 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

returns the highest number in the array explanation needed

Posted 06 January 2011 - 07:18 PM

hi i'm a c# beginner i've got this above code from the book which output the highest number from the array but i am a bit cofused interpreting some parts of the code

namespace Ch06Ex02
{
    class Program
    {
        static int MaxValue(int[] intArray)
        {
            int maxVal = intArray[0];

// i equals 1; i less than intArray.Length IS THE intArray.Length 0 ??? then the increment by 1 
            for (int i = 1; i < intArray.Length; i++) 

{
//DOES THIS MEANS  intArray has the value of i which above the i equal 1
                if (intArray[i] > maxVal) 

//REPLACE THE VALUE OF maxVal WITH THE VALUE OF intArray[i]
                    maxVal = intArray[i]; 
            }

return maxVal;
        }

This is the whole code

using System;
using System.Collections.Generic;
using System.Linq;
using System.Text;

namespace Ch06Ex02
{
    class Program
    {
        {

{
                    maxVal = intArray[i];

}

return maxVal;
        }
        static void Main(string[] args)
        {
            int[] myArray = { 1, 8, 3, 6, 2, 5, 9, 3, 0, 2 };
            int maxVal = MaxValue(myArray);
            Console.WriteLine("The maximum value in myArray is {0}", maxVal);
            Console.ReadKey();
        }
    }
}

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: returns the highest number in the array explanation needed

#2 tlhIn`toq  Icon User is online

• Please show what you have already tried when asking a question.
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: returns the highest number in the array explanation needed

Posted 06 January 2011 - 07:34 PM

// i equals 1; i less than intArray.Length IS THE intArray.Length 0 ??? then the increment by 1 

//DOES THIS MEANS  intArray has the value of i which above the i equal 1