6 Replies - 1209 Views - Last Post: 12 January 2011 - 02:24 PM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Debating on getting my masters in CS

Posted 07 January 2011 - 02:03 AM

Hi everyone,

I will be finishing up my 4 year degree in May for Computer Science with a minor in Computer Information Systems. I was debating on going for my masters but wanted some opinions. I will be 27 and have no work related experience in the field. Jobs also may be a bit more scarce here in Kentucky. I think im going to put in applications for places and also apply for graduate school and see whats offered. How big of a pay increase would I be looking at if I got my masters? And would it be worth losing the 2 years experience I would otherwise be getting for it? I looked at the classes that UK has their students take and it seems to all be the same stuff I took for Bachelors.

Thanks in advance

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Debating on getting my masters in CS

• Pythoneer
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Debating on getting my masters in CS

Posted 07 January 2011 - 10:29 PM

If your intention is to go to school full time and not work, you could probably get your masters in 1 year as oppose to 2. Most people who are trying to get their masters are actually working in their field full time while taking classes. Kentucky might not be the easiest place to get a tech job, but it's not impossible. Have you considered relocating?

I personally only have a BA in Computer Science, but I am working as a software engineer in the telecommunications field. I do intend to go to school in the fall and begin my graduate degree. I can tell you from experience, this is one time where you can have your cake and eat it too. You can get a masters degree without missing out on 2 years experience.

This post has been edited by atraub: 07 January 2011 - 10:34 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 08 January 2011 - 05:03 PM