Do I need to go to school for computer science?

• (2 Pages)
  • +

15 Replies - 3412 Views - Last Post: 17 January 2011 - 09:22 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Do I need to go to school for computer science?

Posted 08 January 2011 - 05:53 PM

Hi,
I have always been interested in computers, graphic design, web design and programming as long as I have used a computer. Career-wise I am a practicing dentist, but I sometimes wonder what I might have been able to do with a computer science degree (or might still do). I have been big into graphic design since I was in high school, and have evolved a lot of that into a rising painting and art career. I have designed my own websites from a really simple html tutorial book I read when I was 12 (my active sites are benmollner.com and drmollner.com) and just what I have read online.

I feel like computer stuff has always come naturally to me, and I really love doing it. I feel like if I had been exposed more to other forms of computing I could be doing some really cool stuff with it. I see other people's programs and often think I could make something similar, or maybe even better. I have a lot of ideas for programs, including combining something with my current career for cloud-based dental software or something. I feel that a I have knack for arranging highly esthetic, but very simple and efficient layouts.