Code Tags

Page 1 of 1

7 Replies - 7096 Views - Last Post: 10 January 2011 - 05:33 PM

#1 Ancient Dragon  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Addict
  • member icon

Reputation: 82
  • View blog
  • Posts: 679
  • Joined: 19-July 09

Code Tags

Posted 10 January 2011 - 08:04 AM

Is there an explanation anywhere about how to use code tags? I've been looking and have not yet found one. A good place to put it would be in your FAQ link.

My question about code tags is how can I copy the code into my clipboard so that I can paste it into VC++ 2010 program editor? I've tried just highlighting the code, press Ctrl+C to copy to the clipboard then paste it into the editor but that doesn't work because the code is all on one line with no line breaks. And I don't see any kind of button on the thread that lets me copy to the clipboard. So what's the solution?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 1
  • +

Replies To: Code Tags

#2 macosxnerd101  Icon User is offline

  • Games, Graphs, and Auctions
  • member icon




Reputation: 12148
  • View blog
  • Posts: 45,161
  • Joined: 27-December 08

Re: Code Tags

Posted 10 January 2011 - 08:39 AM

If you double click the code tag box, it will highlight the code accordingly, with all the spaces and line breaks, and without the line numbers. :)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 skyhawk133  Icon User is offline

  • Head DIC Head
  • member icon

Reputation: 1949
  • View blog
  • Posts: 20,376
  • Joined: 17-March 01

Re: Code Tags

Posted 10 January 2011 - 09:22 AM

Can you confirm what browser you're using?

We just upgraded the syntaxhighlighter and it's supposed to fix a lot of little issues including not copying over line numbers, but it sounds like IE may not honor the /n that's being used for the line break.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 Dogstopper  Icon User is offline

  • The Ninjaducky
  • member icon

Reputation: 2965
  • View blog
  • Posts: 11,222
  • Joined: 15-July 08

Re: Code Tags

Posted 10 January 2011 - 09:43 AM

I can confirm the IE 8. It works correctly with all my other browsers, but not IE.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 Ancient Dragon  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Addict
  • member icon

Reputation: 82
  • View blog
  • Posts: 679
  • Joined: 19-July 09

Re: Code Tags

Posted 10 January 2011 - 05:20 PM

Did you change something since I started this thread because now I can see the "view source" button. And I'm using IE8 on Windows 7.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 skyhawk133  Icon User is offline

  • Head DIC Head
  • member icon

Reputation: 1949
  • View blog
  • Posts: 20,376
  • Joined: 17-March 01

Re: Code Tags

Posted 10 January 2011 - 05:22 PM

I reverted back. Couldn't find a solution and the bug report about it had gone unanswered for several months, so figured there wasn't much I could do at this point...
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 AdamSpeight2008  Icon User is offline

  • MrCupOfT
  • member icon

Reputation: 2298
  • View blog
  • Posts: 9,535
  • Joined: 29-May 08

Re: Code Tags

Posted 10 January 2011 - 05:26 PM

Bug Report? IPB / SyntaxHighlighter?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#8 skyhawk133  Icon User is offline

  • Head DIC Head
  • member icon

Reputation: 1949
  • View blog
  • Posts: 20,376
  • Joined: 17-March 01

Re: Code Tags

Posted 10 January 2011 - 05:33 PM

The copy/paste issue has a bug report on sytaxhighlighter, the expression issue I can't find or replicate on any other IPB, so not sure what's causing it.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1