2 Replies - 495 Views - Last Post: 10 January 2011 - 08:54 PM Rate Topic: -----

#1 felito  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 78
  • Joined: 08-December 10

extensions- simple question

Posted 10 January 2011 - 08:47 PM

extensions- simple question
hi guys

i have this script

Code:

Doc_=/home/$USER/Documentos/*.odt || .doc



but in the code above, only .odt files are selected, all .doc none.

What is the error in the code?

thanks

This post has been edited by felito: 10 January 2011 - 08:47 PM

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: extensions- simple question

#2 no2pencil  Icon User is offline

  • Toubabo Koomi
  • member icon

Reputation: 5314
  • View blog
  • Posts: 27,220
  • Joined: 10-May 07

Re: extensions- simple question

Posted 10 January 2011 - 08:49 PM

one of two things I see wrong with it.

One, you supply no wild card to the doc files.

Two, there i no path for the doc files.

Is it to be assumed that the entire path is for *.odt because there is no spacing? It reads to me all odt files in this directory, or doc file extension. Is it possible to set the current directory, then say *.odt || *.doc ??
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 felito  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 78
  • Joined: 08-December 10

Re: extensions- simple question

Posted 10 January 2011 - 08:54 PM

View Postno2pencil, on 10 January 2011 - 07:49 PM, said:

one of two things I see wrong with it.

One, you supply no wild card to the doc files.

Two, there i no path for the doc files.

Is it to be assumed that the entire path is for *.odt because there is no spacing? It reads to me all odt files in this directory, or doc file extension. Is it possible to set the current directory, then say *.odt || *.doc ??


thanks for your reply

i think that the problem is bad syntax, i can copy (and select) the doc files, if i change to *.doc || *.odt
and if i change to

Doc_=/home/$USER/Documentos/*


i can copy and select all the files


---all files are stored in Documentos/, so te path is correct

This post has been edited by felito: 10 January 2011 - 08:57 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1