2 Replies - 2366 Views - Last Post: 12 January 2011 - 08:28 PM

• D.I.C Regular
  • member icon

• View blog

Is a BA in CS the right way to go for web dev?

Posted 12 January 2011 - 08:08 PM

I am a self taught programmer(still a rookie by any means) and also know a bit of web development stuff. I am more interested in the web dev side of the spectrum. Obviously programming goes hand in hand with programming (Javascript, php, asp.net, etc.) I am attending Mansfield University in the fall as a major of CS. Is CS the right program I should be going into for a future career in web dev? Mansfield also offers a Information Sciences major which is less math and theory and more on the business hardware side of things. What is the right path to go?

Also, as of right now, i'd like to start picking up more web dev stuff

What I know
-Html
-Css(enough to get me by)
-Javascript(enough to get me by)
What I want to know
-More indepth CSS
-Javascript(have a class on JS this coming semester in highschool)/Jquery
-XML
-Where and how servers and databases are used.

If anyone could provide a book title or indepth web site on advanced CSS that would be great. Google results are only supplying me with basics. Also I have -NO- idea where or how to use databases with web design. On top of that what does it mean to have a web site run off your own server? It's getting late and can't think of many more questions but im sure I will come up with more. Thanks for your responses ahead of time!

-Dillon

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Is a BA in CS the right way to go for web dev?

• Programming Theoretician
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Is a BA in CS the right way to go for web dev?

Posted 12 January 2011 - 08:18 PM