The basis of programming...

Just wanted to know if anyone could fill me in on how programming work

Page 1 of 1

5 Replies - 2330 Views - Last Post: 20 November 2006 - 07:22 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

The basis of programming...

Posted 18 November 2006 - 09:10 AM

[b] Hi people. i'm a complete noob when it comes to programming.

My questions are these....What is the basis of programming? How does it work?

I know nothing about programming but am curious about it. What is the basis of how you get it to function? As far as I know you use certain codes and specific numerical/non-numerical instructions to create something. Say if i wanted to create a program how would I go about doing it? is there something i'd need? Is programming all about knowing exacly what you type into the compiler so it processes the infomation and turns it into your program or whatever it is your writing? I guess i'm very unsure about the whole essense of how programming works. I dont really understand how it gets put into what you want it to be put into and how you make certain decisions based on numbers and such. Could anyone please fill me in? thx.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: The basis of programming...

• lost in compilation
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: The basis of programming...

Posted 18 November 2006 - 10:31 AM

there are many languages out there to learn, it is about learning a language and eventually many, not just making a program.
Java seems to be a popular starting block, i'd also suggest visual basic, but java is all available free. (compiler JSDK, JVM, and the documentation)

Not all languages are compiled, C, C++, and java are examples of compiled languages, and there are differences in these such as functional and procedural, but i won't get into that here.
Some languages are interpreted like scheme or based on truths such as prolog.