11 Replies - 4749 Views - Last Post: 18 January 2011 - 09:46 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

C#/XNA General GameComponent, Interface, and State machine questions.

Posted 18 January 2011 - 05:03 AM

I'm currently working on my first real project with XNA. I've done my share of tutorials, read a few books, researched my topics, and I continue to do more everyday. I'm not a beginner beginner, but I'm still a beginner, learning as I go.

In my quest, I've come across a few GameComponent examples, maybe one or two small mentions of Interfaces, and what I believe is referred to as a State Machine.

GameComponents I mostly get. I'm in the process of refactoring my code for a general sprite manager, and plan on implementing another for menu and screen management. Which brings me to some questions. Is there such a thing as too many game components? Is it better to create several different managers for each different class? Or is it perhaps more efficient to use one general manager for a parent class and all of it's children?

My current sprite manager is aimed at handling all my sprites: enemies, the player, guns... Pretty much everything that uses a sprite. As I'm developing my game, its starting to make more sense to me to group my sprite objects into managers by how they behave and/or during which GameState they are called.

Then I came across some mention of C# interfaces, and from what I understand they're basically a way to group similar methods together. Similar to a game component, but a little more limited and not tied directly into the main Update and Draw loops. I have no experience with these, and clearly need to do some more research on them, but it hasn't been a pressing issue as I've seen maybe one example use them.