Page 1 of 1

jQuery for Beginners - Syntax and Functions Rate Topic: ****- 6 Votes

#1 Fungle  Icon User is online

• D.I.C Regular
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 18 January 2011 - 12:25 PM

POPULAR

Welcome to a tutorial on jQuery for absolute beginners, This tutorial is designed for people who perhaps know HTML and CSS and want to broaden their horizons but don't know where to start.

Oke doke, We're going to need some form of virtual notepad and a browser [Anything modern, Highly discourage using IE for anything...]

Ok, If you've never done any Javascript before then this is kind of confusing but bear with me even though it looks messy first you'll get the hang of it and before you know it you'll be having little Javascript babies running around.

Events
Events in JS and jQuery are very simple, You can use two types, HTML markup to call methods, Or make the event in JS which is a lot neater and easier to do really...

So, This is how we're going to go, Lets make a click event for an element, here is a sample:
$("#result").click(function () {

});

Ok, Here we are identifying that when the HTML element which as an ID or Name of "result" and then providing a handler for the .Click event. After this we are declaring what is going to happen when the event triggers, for example
$("#result").click(function () {
$(this).hide("slow"); // Hide it slowly!
});

Ok, You may have noticed a strange word in the code, "this". The "this" is basically referring to the result element that we defined in the method, it is a much better way of referring to elements within a function, as it saves you time from re-writing all the element names over and over again and wearing out your keyboard...

But remember!
The keyword for "this" will change depending on where you are using it, so whenever you use it make sure that you use it in the right context.