4 Replies - 3738 Views - Last Post: 18 January 2011 - 03:26 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Tile-based map c++, sdl help please.

Posted 18 January 2011 - 01:45 PM

Hello all,

This is my first post. I am fairly new to c++ and newer to sdl. I wish to make a tile-based game, simply as a learning project and was hoping to get some help with displaying a random and dynamic tile map. I have finished StayCrisp's tutorials for the game engine, and was hoping someone could help me implement the map into that engine.

Right now I use a simple array to hold the value of 100 map tiles which I pass to an update function. However, this is very sloppy, not oop, and from what I have read from very random posts I should not be using an array for the tiles, though the people that said not to didn't specify why.

I am decent with classes, pointers and most of the basics, but vectors elude me. I need some practice with them as simply reading gets me nowhere. I could ramble on for a while, but my main point in this post is help with the map and possibly implementing it into stayscrisp's game engine.

I want the map to be random (though I think I can randomize the tiles on my own), I want to be able to store the tiles that aren't being displayed somewhere but without a limitation to the map size (as I would like the map to grow as far as the player explores), and most of all I would love some help.

Sorry for the long post. Thanks to all in advance.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Tile-based map c++, sdl help please.

• Born again Pastafarian.
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Tile-based map c++, sdl help please.

Posted 18 January 2011 - 02:00 PM

I am decent with classes, pointers and most of the basics, but vectors elude me. I need some practice with them as simply reading gets me nowhere.

A vector is simply a line segment which has direction and magnitude, don't overthink them so to speak, a vector itself is infact very simple.