Computer Science or Software Engineering

• (2 Pages)
  • +

21 Replies - 2617 Views - Last Post: 27 April 2011 - 09:53 AM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Computer Science or Software Engineering

Posted 20 January 2011 - 12:56 PM

I'm an high school student and I will be going off to college soon. I want to know what course will be better for a main focus on programming and just programming. I want to just mainly focus and study programming. I want to know which course will be better suited to my needs software engineering or computer science. If you know any other courses that are mainly programming focused, please let me know so I can check them out. If there is anyone out there who has taken both courses, please help me. I don't know if this is in the right forum but since this is a forum for students, then I thought why not get the answers straight from the people who are studying and taking this courses. Anyways, if you have an opinion please let me know. I want to know that decision I'm making will be the right one.

All the courses I'm considering:
-Computer Engineering
-Computer Science
-Computer Systems Science
-Software Engineering

Please let me know which one of these has a big/main programming focus and would be the best suited for my needs.

This post has been edited by 15yearoldCoder: 20 January 2011 - 01:17 PM

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 1
  • +

Replies To: Computer Science or Software Engineering

• D.I.C Lover

• View blog

Re: Computer Science or Software Engineering

Posted 20 January 2011 - 01:47 PM

I think computer science is the one you want. I believe that computer engineering has a hardware focus as well as software, and software engineering has a lot in common with computer science but with more of a management perspective. Not sure what's involved with computer systems science.
You should look at the school you plan to go to and check out the course list for each degree, that should give you a pretty good idea of the focus of each.