9 Replies - 6344 Views - Last Post: 31 January 2011 - 09:11 PM

#1 Guest_Pyoverdin*

Guidance needed

Posted 29 January 2011 - 11:51 PM

Hello, please bear with me as this is my first post.

This my be in the wrong forum, please forgive me mods if it is.

This may seem totally irrelevant at first, but...

I am a medical school graduate waiting to start my housemanship. I started making websites when I was 12(it was the easiest thing, and because I have an attention span of milliseconds I did it). and then moved on to C. However, my parents, a doctor and a dentist, put me towards biology and then... medical school. I was miserable..and then mental illness struck me. Although I was top of my class, I was very depressed, and finished seventh overall.

Now, waiting for my houseman, I started programming, C, C++, Opengl, PSP... and then..I suddenly woke up. It was if I was drowning and I was saved. I couldn't believe it. I think its the creativity within coding. Although its someting people do on a daily basis, It made me normal again. Signs of illness withdrew, My Psychiatrist himself was startled by this 'recovery'.

But then, a deep regret settled in. I should have gone into Computer Science and software development....

I just wanna ask...

Are there any international or well recognized exams to allow to do this professionally?
Any help on improving my coding skills. I wanna get a proper 'feel' if you will for coding.

Sorry if this annoyed you. Thanks in advance for your reply.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 3

Replies To: Guidance needed

• The Ninjaducky
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Guidance needed

Posted 29 January 2011 - 11:57 PM

Let's move this to the Corner Cubicle and get some discussion going shall we?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Hash != Encryption
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 30 January 2011 - 12:06 AM

You must be your destiny if you got sick over not programming.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Regular