8 Replies - 458 Views - Last Post: 02 February 2011 - 12:19 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Hello world.

Posted 01 February 2011 - 11:40 AM

I just wanted to drop in and say hello. I just found this site and plan to use it quite a bit.

I worked for 14 years as a systems analyst on IBM AS/400s, but quit that job (the biggest mistake of my life) in 2000 to move away and start a housing business with my husband. The business is gone and so is the husband, and I couldn't be happier about it! To update my skill set, I am an undergraduate student at DeVry (online) studying CIS with my concentration in Database Admin. I am 44 years old, recently divorced, mother of a 19 year old and a 9 year old!

I am an active member of the forums at Macrumors.com (user name redwarrior). I am dating a moderator on the MR site and have found my place. Anyway, I love my MacBook Pro and OS X, but support my family and friends Windows boxes as well.

I'm looking forward to being helped and helping out here. I promise to search before I post, not ask for help cheating, and to help out as much as possible too (although I can be very shy).

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 1
  • +

Replies To: Hello world.

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: Hello world.

Posted 01 February 2011 - 11:45 AM

Welcome to DIC redwarrior! I'm new also =P There are alot of great people on here I've found alot of help here so I'm sure you will too.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Self-Trained Economist
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 01 February 2011 - 05:26 PM

Hi redwarrior_ and welcome to DIC! I definitely like you're OS of choice! I miss my iBook from my days in middle school. Now I'm stuck with Windows 7 for a few more months until I graduate high school. :(

What languages have you worked with? If I'm not mistaken, IBM does a fair amount with Java as well as COBOL. I'm a Java person myself, so if you find yourself with any Java questions, I'll be happy to help! :)